Welcome, Christmas. Bring Your Cheer.

Now that Thanksgiving is over and I can say this free of judgement from the Grinches & Scrooges of the world, I’m here to tell you that I love Christmas. Plain and simple. And everything that comes along with it.

– The music. Sing it, Nat. Now will someone go get me some chestnuts? And a fire? And jack frost nipping at my nose? Too much? Sorry.

-The warm coziness of the decorations. I need a fireplace so I can decorate the mantle.
Come. On. Act like you don’t want to grab that flannel strategically placed over the chair and just roll around with it in front of that warm fire. You can’t. You can’t even pretend like you don’t want to do that.

-Christmas lights on houses. This should be year round. There are the gaudy ones and the classy ones. Don’t worry though – there are plenty of room for both. Growing up, there was one house that used to go all out with blow up snow men, every color light imaginable, candy canes lining the walkway, fake reindeer that moved, and a REAL Santa Claus. My friend Jackie & I used to make her Dad stop at this house every week on our way home from dance because the owner (I’m assuming) would stand at the end of the driveway, dressed up like Santa, handing out candy canes. Candy canes, I tell you! Fo. Free. I’m pretty sure they collected donations for the Salvation Army or something, but that’s besides the point. The point is that every year we knew they’d be there. And they needed the gaudy. The house was on a dead end street, but you could see it before you even made it into their neighborhood. I remember it looking something like this (Jackie – correct me if I’m wrong): 
Now THAT is holiday spirit.

-But, the classy. Oh, the classy.
christmas lights for houses
If that doesn’t give you warm fuzzies then I don’t even know if we can be friends. Sure, Uncle Jack is probably drunk and Grandma’s screaming because her hearing aid is broken, but you wouldn’t know that from the outside. That’s the Christmas beauty of it.

I know there are many people who think Christmas celebrations start too soon, but what they don’t realize is there’s no such thing as “too early” when it comes to this blessed holiday and its cheer. Case in point: we were driving last week and Christmas music came on and my brother-in-law bugged out, saying some hoo-ha about how “it’s not even Thanksgiving yet.” What!? I don’t comprehend your hatred. I’m lookin’ at YOU, Paul.

All I’m saying is that there’s a reason why every other day of the year, if something exciting is happening like an upcoming trip, people will comment “ooohhh it feels like Christmas morning!” It’s a feeling that stays with you from childhood long into adulthood – if you’re lucky enough.

6 thoughts on “Welcome, Christmas. Bring Your Cheer.

Leave a Reply

