Book Review: Beautiful Disaster

I mentioned that my friends and I started a book club. We had our first meeting, so as promised, here are my final thoughts. We read Beautiful Disaster by Jamie McGuire. It follows the story of Abby & Travis and the ups and downs of their roller coaster relationship. This book was a fast read, and it definitely kept me entertained, but some of the ideas were a little too far-fetched for me. At one point, Abby agrees to pay off her dysfunctional father’s gambling debt. Since she was 13 and had good luck in a poker game, her father made her believe that she “stole” his luck at poker. She takes advantage of her skills goes to Vegas to win enough for her father to pay off his debt.

Travis and Abby (or Pigeon, as he likes to call her…) have such a dysfunctional relationship. To be fair, Abby is pretty twisted herself with pretty much dating Parker & Travis at once. I can let that slide, but she kept a diamond bracelet from Parker after they broke up. Shady. It doesn’t really matter because Abby’s issues are nothing compared to Travis’. He obviously has anger and jealously issues that need to be addressed, such as not “letting” her accept a drink from any other guy at a bar. He goes and gets a tattoo that says “Pigeon.” I don’t know about you, but if someone tattooed my name on their body, or better yet, this awful nickname they gave me, after knowing me for 2 months, I’d run. Oh, and let’s not forget that he literally fights for a living.

Funny Flirting Ecard: I wish Travis Maddox would pull up on his Harley, drive me to one of his fights, win a grand, then take me to Vegas to get married. Too Much?

It bugged me that they ended up together and their unhealthy dynamic was just completely ignored. All my skepticism aside, I did enjoy this book. It certainly keeps your attention, and leaves you wanting to know more, which I think is what the author intended. I don’t think McGuire intended to have it analyzed that much. Walking Disaster is a follow up of the same story, but told from Travis’ point of view, rather than Jamie’s. I am curious to read this to see if my opinion changes by having a glimpse inside his crazy mind.

Leave a Reply

