Glee, Actually

I have a lot to say about Glee and all of the new characters this season, but let’s just focus on the most recent episode for now. First of all, the title of this episode was “Glee, Actually.” Although Sue and I may disagree, I was stoked about this because it gave a shout out to my favorite holiday movie, Love Actually. Let me first say that Sue Sylvester is back in all her glory and I could not be happier. The episode begins with Sue writing in her journal, saying it is “that magical season when five seemingly separate story lines are cleverly sandwiched between commercial breaks, and then tied together at the end like a beautiful bow – like that movie, Love Actually, which I don’t think anyone really cares for, and yet it constantly on cable.” Agree to disagree.
Glee - Episode 4.10 - Glee Actually - Promotional Photos (4)Sue picks Marley’s mom for the faculty Secret Santa, and ends up giving her and Marley money to pay for therapy to help overcome her eating disorder. She was so on par with her sarcasm and one liners, but still showing she does have a heart. It was perfect

Millie: I wanted to say thank you for what you did not Marley and me.
Sue: I have no idea what you’re talking about. I had nothing to do with the making of that film.

Classic Sue.

Can we talk about Rachel Berry? I love Rachel and how annoying she can be. How can you not? She’s the heart of the show. But it just seems that this season she’s becoming more and more like Lea Michele, and less and less like Rachel. Don’t get me wrong, I love Lea too, but it’s like her whole character has gone missing and I don’t like it. Just because you got fancy bangs and have weird ombre hair now doesn’t mean that Rachel is automatically like that, too.

I wasn’t sure how I felt about Sam and Brittany, but after this episode, I am a fan. They were cracking me up. Clearly, they strongly believed in the Mayan calendar, thinking the world would end (spoiler alert – they made it past December 21st, so we should be all set). When they realize the world is still spinning on December 22nd, they are devastated. Coach Biest was awesome and hilarious in humoring them, pretending she got a text about the Mayan calendar: “I just got a google alert about the Mayan calendar. It says some archaeologist named Indiana Jones found a new Mayan calendar today. Dr. Jones said that the new end of the world date is September 27, 2014.”

I really hope Kurt and Blaine can work it out. They were so adorbs with their little ice skating scene. I got chocked up at the end when Blaine started singing “Have Yourself a Merry Little Christmas” while setting the table (don’t you do that?) and Kurt was just looking at him.

In true Glee fashion, they closed the show while continuing with “Have Youself a Merry Little Christmas,” switching from scene to scene. Love me a giant group number. As Sue asked, “Does this involve the glee club singing a Christmas song in the auditorium with snow falling on an elaborate winter scene?” Why, yes. Yes it does.

Glee Glee, Actually Songs

And I wouldn’t have it any other way.

Leave a Reply

