XFactor: Carly Rose Sonenclar FTW

I posted my original thoughts on X Factor a few weeks ago, here. You won’t be surprised to hear that I am THRILLED with the top three – Carly Rose Sonenclar, Tate Stevens, and Fifth Harmony.

I’m obviously a Carly fan but it goes without question that she had the best performances last week (and every week, but that’s besides the point). The first song she covered was Elton John’s “Your Song.” No disrespect to Sir Elton, but this really might have been better than the original. I’ve never heard anyone sing this song in a version similar to Carly’s. If you do nothing else today, please go watch this video. Oh, and another reminder that she’s 13 years old. She also covered John Lennon’s “Imagine,” which was definitely good, but that song is too perfect as is; you can’t top the original. She did play the piano a bit for this song and Britney is 100% correct in that it gives her a little bit more cred in the music biz.

Tate Stevens sang “Bonfire” by Craig Morgan apparently, which to be honest was just a friendly reminder of why I can’t stand country music. Like, we get it – with the red solo cup, taking a swig, gettin’ our tractors dirty, hanging in the woods crap. I love doing all of the above, minus the tractor part perhaps, but the songs are just the same over and over again. Tate can obviously sing, so this is not to say anything poor about his vocal abilities, just the genre in general. NBD. The second song he sang was “Fall” by Clay Walker, which is a song I know and a country song I somewhat enjoy. Still, I don’t want him to win.

Fifth Harmony brought everything they had last week, including incredibly offensive bows. Of course, it was the most annoying of the bunch who was wearing it. Go figure. Camila Big Bow Dinah Jane Lauren Normani Ally brooke Fifth Harmony Anything Could Happen. I am just baffled. You know, these girls talk about how their BFF’s and are so close, but anyone that lets their friend wear that on national television is no friend at all. I’m going to try my best to ignore it, along with the cupcake dresses they all have on, and discuss their singing. First they sang Ellie Goulding’s “Anything Can Happen.” They have gotten much better and seem much more knowledgeable about what they’re doing, but again, they were wearing the above and sitting at a table with waiters, and it was just effing weird, and her bow was taking up half of my TV screen. They also sang “Impossible” by Shontelle. They sang this for their first audition as a group. Again, they sounded good but it was just as yawn-worthy as the first time.

Emblem 3 was unfortunately part of the show last week as well but they’ve since been eliminated, so I do have faith in America. I forgot what they sang for their first song, which is telling, and quite frankly, I don’t care enough to even look it up. What I do horrifyingly remember is when they sang “Hey Jude” by the Beatles. It was whatever. I don’t even think I was paying attention. However, my ears perked right up when I heard L.A. have the audacity to say they were “teen heart throbs like the Beatles.” It takes incredible talent to get to that level, and they are nowhere close. Shockingly, Demi was the one to actually disagree with L.A. Turns out she’s not as stupid when all her acts are gone and she has nothing to lose. L.A. on the other hand, feel free to exit the show at your leisure. Oh wait – you are. BUH-BYE. Now we just need Khloe and Demi to get on board with that as well.

The final performances are tomorrow night, Wednesday, 12/17. I can’t wait to see Carly kill it and then vote for her over and over.

3 thoughts on “XFactor: Carly Rose Sonenclar FTW

Leave a Reply

