Post-Holiday Blues

As it turns out, snowing AFTER Christmas – the day you need to return to work – is not the way to cure the post-holiday blues. Instead, I shall share some of my Christmas festivities from earlier this week.

Let’s rewind to Saturday, when I baked cookies for 5 hours straight. This is not an exaggeration and it was the best decision I could have ever made. I don’t like to toot my own horn but these cookies were delicious.

I made these chocolate chippers but I left out the nuts. Honestly, they might have been the best chocolate chip cookies I’ve ever tasted. You can’t be playing around with using the little chocolate chips, though. You’ve got the use the big chunks, or discs. I used these and they were all sorts of amazingness when they oozed out all melty-like.

I also made the peanut butter, Hershey kiss in the middle, wonderments that call themselves peanut butter blossoms, apparently. I used this recipe and I will challenge anyone who says they don’t enjoy these.

photo (18)

Oh my GAH. Check out how the chocolate gets all melty and shiny and perfect. The. Best.

I was really indecisive about what kind of sugar cookie to make. Do I frost them? Glaze the suckers? Cut out shapes? Sprinkles? It was incredibly stressful, so I decided to nix the sugar cookies and make these snickerdoodles instead. These were awesome. I’m not huge on crispy-edge cookies, but if you are, this is definitely the doodle for you.

The last cookie I made was definitely the most popular. I didn’t get a picture of my batch, so I’ll put the one that was on the original recipe, which you can find hurr.

Italian Anise Cookies With Icing and Sprinkles. Photo by Cookin'Diva

My Grandma used to make these cookies AWL the time and they were so delicious. This isn’t her recipe but they were still delectable so I like to think it was pretty close. I used almond extract instead of anise, and I think that added an extra tastiness.
*Note: Sprinkles Required.

On Christmas Eve Eve I headed over to the lovely home of my sister and brudder-in-law. We spent the day watching football, so I was enthralled. Later in the evening, we played a rousing game of Apples to Apples, which was so fun – especially since I won 1 out of 2 games that we played.

photo (21)

Then we went to sleepies, and the next day, my chef of a sister cooked us all Christmas Eve dinnah. I don’t have a photog of the roast but here’s some adorbs holiday wines for your viewing pleasure.

photo (20)

How cute!

Before dinner, Paulie gave Nicole an early Christmas present – a break basket – because she was starting to stress about where to put the bread. It was weird. I did not get this hostess trait, but apparently bread baskets are important, yes? Anyway, she got her basket and was thrilled, but since I am five years old at heart, I then requested an early gift for myself. It’s really only fair. So my mom let me open one of her gifts to me, which was the movie Ted. Naturally, we all watched this later that evening. I realize I’m a little late to the party on this one, but this movie was hysterical! Please go see it if you have not. You will not be disappointed.

The sister and I have always exchanged Christmas gifts to/from each other on Christmas Eve, and this has continued well into our adult years with Nicole, Paulie, and muhself. Luckily for her, I no longer wrap pages that I colored for a Disney Princess coloring book and call it a gift.

After we opened prezzies, we went to sleep, and when we woke up the next morning, we saw that Santa came!

image

Here is a (bad, but only) pic I took of the tree.

photo (22)

After we opened presents, my mom and I packed up our loot (lotions, scarves, earrings, and other things I did not photograph) and spent the day at my Mom’s BFF’s house where we enjoyed delicious meatbawls, lasagna, wine, and more cookies.

Needless to say, there was a lot of eating and drinking the past few days and I feel a bit like a meatball myself. At least it’s already Friday!

snooki meatball

Leave a Reply

