Best Songs of 2012, According to Moi

Before I begin this list, please note that this should be taken lightly (as should everything I post, so I guess that goes without saying). These are my top 10 favorite songs of 2012. My criteria is based on dance-ability, catchy lyrics, and relate-ability, among other things. I am fairly certain positive that you will not agree, but here are my top 10 faves of the year in no particular order (with the exception of number one…)

10. “Call Me Maybe” by Carly Rae Jepson. Yes, the song and lyrics are outrageous but you can’t even pretend like you didn’t sing along every time you heard this song, and probably copied the Harvard Baseball team’s dance moves for it as well.

9. “Wild Ones” by Flo Rida, ft. Sia. How does one hear this song and not just start fist pumping and dancing like a maniac? It is truly the perfect collaboration of singing and rapping and let’s just say I get stares whenever this is playing in my car. “All black shades when the sun comes through.”

8. “Gangnam Style” by PSY. This song is ridiculous, but everyone knows the (English) lyrics and dance moves. Sure, in 18 years we will regard it in the same way we do “Macarena” (Yes, that song is from 1994. You’re welcome for making you feel old). But just like the Latin dance moves we mimicked at Bar & Bat Mitzvahs, sweet sixteens, and the like, these moves will also be embedded into our minds. Plus, Glee covered it, so it automatically gets included.

7. “22” by Taylor Swift. I realize that most people either love or hate Taylor Swift. However, regardless of your position, if you’re feeling old after reading that “Macarena” is from 1994, for instance, just put on this song and dance and I promise your mood will be lifted. The girl may be annoying, but she knows what she’s doing, that’s for sure.

6. “We are Young” by Fun. Another one we can all agree is good to jam to in the car. It just makes you feel powerful. No? Just me. Whatever. For your entertainment, check out this awesome parody song which is equally entertaining, yet incredibly accurate and frightening at the same time.

5. “What Makes You Beautiful” by One Direction. I believe this technically premiered in 2011 in other countries, but I think it was big in the U.S. in 2012 so I’m including it. Look, I realize this is a boy band, but whatcha gonna do? Sorry I never got over my love of N*Sync and Backstreet Boys and this is filling the void.

4. “Dark Side” by Kelly Clarkson. I just really love this song, and if you’ve never heard it, I highly recommend giving it a listen.

3. “Payphone” by Maroon 5. This seems like a totally random addition, and to be honest, I’m kind of tired of it now and feel that it was overplayed. However, I remember being obsessed when it first came out. Perhaps just because it was catchy?

2. “Titanium” by David Guetta ft. Sia. Caught Sia being a part of this list twice just by being a featured artist. Anyway, I don’t think this was as popular as I’m making it out to be. But this was a crucial song in allowing me to complete my 15K rather than collapsing in the street, so it’s allowed.

1. “Too Close” by Alex Clare. This is the only one that is 100% deserving of the #1 spot for the outstanding music and lyrics. Ha. Just kidding. It gets this rank because it is the song I sang on the streets of Northampton, MA with Lee Dewyze before his concert. “And it feels like I am just too close to love you.” Talk about fate.

One thought on “Best Songs of 2012, According to Moi

Leave a Reply

