How to Make a High Quality Basketball Cake

I never got a chance to show you the wonderful cake I made for my friend,ย Katie’s, birthday a few weeks ago, so now is that time.

Steps to making a delicious basketball cake

You will need:
1 box of your favorite cake mix & mix ins (I used chocolate)
classy tub o icing (I used buttuh cream)
reeses pieces

I suppose you could make the cake and/or icing from scratch, but I did not.

Step 1: Make cake according to the directions on the box. I used two round pans and stacked one on top of the other since this would most easily create the round basketball shape I was going for. If you were hoping for a football or something, use something else, but I don’t know what.

Step 2: Let the cake cool. This is super important because then when you frost it, the icing doesn’t melt and drip down in it’s icingy goodness.

Step 3: One the cake is cooled, frost the top of one of the round pieces of chocolately goodness. Then take the other and pile that right on top. Now frost the rest of the cake. Be sure to do the top and all around the sides, coating it nice and thick and good. IMPORTANT: save just a little spoonful for yourself to eat right then and there.

Step 4: Open your reeses pieces. You will only need the browns and oranges, so begin dividing those into a separate pile. Feel free to eat any and all yellows as well as any other pieces that have a cracked coating and are not suitable for the wonderous cake. Feel sick and finally stop eating hunks of sugared peanut butter.

Step 5: Now it is time to place the pieces on the cake. I suggest doing this right after frosting so they stick the best. First, I outlined the lines on the basketball with the browns. Once that was done I just filled in the holes with the orange.

What you’ll have is pretty amazing piece of art. Take a picture and instragram that ish. Then, go nuts. You have a delicious, chocolate & peanut butter masterpiece to maul.photo (23)

3 thoughts on “How to Make a High Quality Basketball Cake

Leave a Reply

