TV Shows I’m Loving Right Now

It’s unlikely that a television show will suck me in unless it is a singing competition or some sort of asinine reality show. I must share my enjoyment of a few shows I’ve recently been obsessed with, so you can start watching or nod along with me.

Girls
I realize I’m late to the game on this, but better late than never, right? I’ve finished all of season one, so don’t ruin anything with season two spoilers, okay? For anyone that hasn’t watched, please do. The show follows a group of unstable (mentally, physically, and the like) girls in their 20s, living in the city, trying to get their lives together. There are drugs, sex, alcohol, fights, insecurities, heartbreak, and everything in between, yet it is more real than any “reality” show ever to grace the world of television. I wouldn’t be surprised if the story lines reflect Lena Dunham’s life in some way, shape, or form. Either that, or her talent goes far beyond what I had imagined. It is refreshing to see a show that is so honest and raw while still making people genuinely laugh. Lena Dunham is a genius. Period. I envy that she created such an amazing and hysterical show. Now she’s writing a book. Needless to say, I hope to one day follow in her footsteps.

The Mindy Project
To be honest, I haven’t watched this in a few weeks, but not due to lack of interest. If you follow me on twitter you may have seen this the other day.
photo

Let’s just all agree that Mindy Kaling is in the ranks of Tina Fey and Amy Poehler with her humor. In The Mindy Project she plays an OBGYN who loves romantic comedies and is constantly trying to get her personal life, aka love life, on track. The show is witty and quirky and wonderful. If you enjoy one-liners, this is the place to be.

Are there any other shows I’m missing? I’ve heard great things about New Girl and want to watch, but haven’t gotten a chance to yet. Perhaps that’s next on the list.

One thought on “TV Shows I’m Loving Right Now

Leave a Reply

