February Foto Challenge: Day 7, Skinny Chocolate Brownies

We are all so lucky that I picked “something sweet” for day 7 of my February Foto Challenge. Last night, I took a look at what I’d need to take a picture of today and was so pumped. Something sweet, I thought, maybe I’ll take a picture of a cupcake, or a bowl of ice cream, or cookies. The options are limitless! That was, until my sweet chocolate lava dreams came to a screeching halt when I realized that I had none of these things on hand. I was starting to shake because of the sweet tooth I gave myself just thinking about sugar. Here’s the thing though – I’ve been trying to eat like a semi-normal human and I knew I couldn’t make a huge batch of buttery cake, so I scoured the internet for something low-cal yet utterly scrumptious. These aren’t very sweet (I said they were healthy, okay? It’s like eating celery, but much better tasting*) but they’re delicious.

SkinnyChocolateBrownies

These are adapted from this recipe. I sadly did not have peanut butter on hand (not sure who I am these days) so feel free to add that in if you so choose.

  • Ingredients:
  • 6 oz non-fat vanilla Greek yogurt
  • 1/4 cup unsweetened almond milk
  • 1 egg
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 3/4 cup of sugar
  • 1/2 cup unsweetened cocoa powder
  • 1/2 cup all-purpose flour (I used 1/2 C and they came out cakey. If you like a more fudgey brownie I’d try 1/4 C)

Preheat oven to 350*

Mix everything together & pour into a sprayed or greased 8 x 8 baking dish. Bake for 18-20 minutes, or until inserted toothpick or butter knife comes out clean.

Serves: 1

Just kidding. I think…

I cut mine in 16 pieces for minis. Here’s the nutritional info for 1, if cut into 16 pieces:
Calories: 69 * Fat: 1 g * Carb: 11.7 g * Fiber: 1 g * Sugar: 10 g * Protein: 1.8 g

Here is the nutritional info for 1, if cut into 9 pieces:
Calories: 123 * Fat: 1.8 g * Carb: 21 g * Fiber: 1.7 g * Sugar: 18 g * Protein: 3.3 g

Since these aren’t super sweet, feel free to add more sugar if that’s your style. Call me Paula Deen, but I thought these would be awful without butter or oil. They’re not! Are they your standard rich brownie? No, but they’re delicious anyway. Give ’em a go.

*Please note that while these are low in calories, they are not equivalent to the nutritional content of celery.

Leave a Reply

