February Foto Challenge: Day 14, Happy Valentine’s Day!

Happy Valentine’s Day!

What are everyone’s thoughts on this holiday? I think I’m somewhere in the middle. I’m not obsessed with it, but by no means do I hate it either. I feel like a lot of people feel very strongly one way or the other, so feel free to share your thoughts!

In an effort to get myself in the holiday spirit, I made these skinny no-bake cookies. I cut the recipe in half because my roommate doesn’t like chocolate (not sure know how we’re friends) and I didn’t need 40+ cookies lying around. I also used regular peanut butter – partially because I couldn’t find the better’n peanut butter (after looking in one store) and partially because I don’t trust any PB that has strange ingredients. There is truly nothing like some good old ground up peanuts and salt to expand your waistline. AmIRight?

So here’s what I ended up doing.

  • Ingredients:
  • 1/3 C Sugar
  • 1/4 C Unsweetened Cocoa Powder
  • 1 Tbs. Margarine/Butter
  • 1/4 C Almond Milk (skim would work)
  • 1 1/4 C Quick Oats
  • 6 Tbs. Peanut butter
  • 1/2 tsp. vanilla
  • Powdered sugar for coating(optional)

Heat the first 4 ingredients in a saucepan and boil for about 2 minutes. Then, remove from heat and add oats, peanut butter, and vanilla. Mix it up and either roll into balls or roll out on wax paper to make cut out cookies. Chill overnight in the fridge. Dip in powdered sugar.

Rather than roll them into balls, I flattened them out in wax paper, probably about 1/4″ thick. Then I used my handy dandy heart cookie cutter to make these beauties!

no-bake choc pb cookies

I made 15 hearts out of these. Nutrition info per heart:
Cal: 91 * Fat: 4.5 g * Carb: 11 g * Fiber: 1.6 g * Sugar: 4.8 g * Protein: 2.5 g

I refrigerated them overnight and dusted with powdered sugar today. Aren’t they precious? They take 5 minutes plus the overnight chill, and they’re tasty, too! Make them for your Valentine! Or yourself. Or your cat. We don’t judge here.

Have a wonderful Valentine’s Day. Or, if you’re not into it, a wonderful Thursday!

One thought on “February Foto Challenge: Day 14, Happy Valentine’s Day!

Leave a Reply

