I Still Love JLaw, Anne is Annoying, & JHud Stole the Show

I obviously discussed Seth, but didn’t acknowledge the rest of The Oscars. Of course, by “rest of” I mean Anne Hathaway, Jennifer Lawrence, and all of the musical performances.

Let’s start with Anne Hathaway. Without question, she deserved this award. Her performance was nothing short of phenomenal in Les Mis. I loved her Fantine, but I just can’t bring myself to love Anne. I am so bothered by this because I can’t even figure out why. Typically, I have no qualms about explaining why I do or do not like someone (it’s a gift), but for the life of me, I have no idea why I cringed at her acceptance speech. I guess everything seemed incredibly in-genuine and rehearsed. I also found this video.

It certainly didn’t help her case when she compared her dream of winning an Oscar to Fantine’s dream of, oh I don’t know, living a normal life where she didn’t need to prostitute herself to stay alive. Okay, so I guess I do know why I don’t like her.

My gal pal, Jen, on the other hand, blew Annie away, spill and all. You could just tell how genuinely surprised and appreciative she was of winning. I hope she doesn’t lose that because it’s part of what makes her so like-able. I highly recommend watching her backstage interview as well to see the difference between the two actresses. She is so damn down to earth. I’ll ask you again, gurl, can we be friends?

“What was the process? I don’t know. I just woke up and tried on the dress, and it fit – thank God – and then I took a shower.”

Since I only saw Silver Linings Playbook and Les Mis, these are the only two awards I feel qualified to judge. I need to also express my gratitude that they chose to go in such a musical direction at The Oscars this year. I felt like I was watching The Tony’s and I wasn’t even mad about it. I’ll admit the Chicago bit was strange since that movie was so old. Don’t get me wrong – I’m a fan. It was just like Oh, hi Catherine Zeta-Jones. You’ve literally done nothing in over a decade. But then this happened. Be still my musical heart.

The quality of this video isn’t that great but it’s the only one I could find. It. Does. Not. Matter. She’s incredible. I am obsessed with music. She owned this night and a standing ovation wasn’t even enough to express how chill-inducing her performance was. The cast of Les Mis performed after and it was so powerful hearing them all together. I almost got chills again, but then Russell Crowe joined them and tainted the entire performance, much like he did in the movie.
russellcrowe
Truth.

Bottom Line? Jennifers FTW!

2 thoughts on “I Still Love JLaw, Anne is Annoying, & JHud Stole the Show

Leave a Reply

