On Facebook, Or Lack Thereof

About a year and a half ago, I deleted my Facebook for a solid 6 months. For some reason it sucked me back in again. About a week ago, I deleted the Facebook app from my phone. To some, this may not be a big deal, but for someone who mindlessly refreshed their news feed throughout the day, this was an important step to make.Checked Facebook

Sure, that picture you just posted of that sunrise is gorgeous, but it’s your 8th one in 3 days and now it’s just plain irritating. And I also saw it on your Twitter. And your Instagram. Relax. I get it. Nature is gorgeous and, my word, you have an uncanny ability to choose the proper filter to create a sun-kissed glow on your otherwise pale cheeks, but it’s a bit overload.

Not only that, but now if I enjoy a picture, where do I like it? Do I like it on Instagram, but leave a comment on Facebook? Do I triple up on hearts, and likes, and Twitter favorites? It’s like, “oh pretty sunrise you posted on Facebook.” Then I open Instagram and “Wait. What the-? This is the same. Damn. Picture.”
mad

Since I deleted Facebook from my phone, I’ve been on it twice. I’ve never felt more liberated from the confines of my “friends” – well, aside from the time I deleted my entire account. When I did log on, I had to force myself to use an actual computer. Then, I was so irritated with the stupidity I was reading and wondered why I put forth the effort to open my laptop lid in the first place.

I don’t feel this way about Twitter or Instagram. I think it’s because I can choose the people I follow. If someone on Facebook wants in on my hilarity and good looks, I’m forced to deal with their excessive work-out recaps and sunrise overload. This goes both ways, by the way. I am not ashamed to admit that there are plenty of people I follow on Twitter that have not yet had the good sense to follow me back.
Twitter-White Girl Problems

Maybe it’s an insecurity thing – I need to keep it so people remember I exist? I sure as hell am not awake to post any sort of beautiful sunrises, so they won’t see my posts anyway. Plus, if you need Facebook to know I exist, well I’m just gonna say it – I probably don’t want you in my life/computer to begin with.

I don’t really know where I’m going with this. Probably to an account deletion within 2 weeks. I’ll keep you posted. In the meantime, let me know immediately if anyone I don’t give a shit about gets engaged or gives birth. No wait…don’t.

6 thoughts on “On Facebook, Or Lack Thereof

Leave a Reply

