Happy, Free, Confused, and Lonely at the Same Time

Not to be overshadowed by the wonder of Beyonce, I was also able to see the awkward yet entertaining Taylor Swift for the first time. Girlfran can certainly work a crowd – a crowd of 13-year-olds and us few 20-something’s.

All of these tweens had light-up signs and paraphernalia galore. The signs spelled out “red” or “13” (her lucky number, as well as mine) and girls in front of us had ones that said “like ever” which obviously were the best. I wanted to be their friend but they were no older than 11 and I thought that might come across as creepy. Girls wore red tutus, dresses, and lipstick. All red erry’where flooded the stadium.

20130801-104344.jpg

Taylor Swift has been known to ruffle my feathers because she frequently sounds crappy during live performances, but I must admit that she sounded great. I’m proud of you, girl. Plus, she poked fun at herself, joking about her love life and how exposed it has become. Honestly, go you, T. All these people judge her yet she was performing for a sold out show of 50,000. Can you say you’ve done that?

20130801-103916.jpg

She sang some oldies but goodies mixed in with her new stuff. Again, I don’t remember everything, but here are some highlights

  • You Belong with Me
  • Treacherous
  • Red
  • Should’ve Said No (This was at the request of a fan at her meet and greet)
  • Mean
  • Begin Again
  • 22
  • I Knew You Were Trouble
  • Love Story
  • All Too Well

She ended the show with “We Are Never Getting Back Together” alla her Grammy’s performance. The show ended with fireworks, which was actually cool, and that was it.

I’d be lying if I said I wasn’t singing along just as loud, if not louder, than the teenagers next to me. This show was a blast.

Girl power, Taylor. Girl power.

2 thoughts on “Happy, Free, Confused, and Lonely at the Same Time

Leave a Reply

