The X Factor, Week 1: Chills

Every time a show like American Idol or The X Factor returns to my life, I am reminded of why I am so obsessed in the first place. Is it partially due to Simon Cowell and his beautiful face? Well, of course – I’m only human! But even more than that, it’s because of the ridiculous talent. Let’s take a look at some of the amazing singers that graced our living rooms last night.

Lillie McCloud was the 54-year-old grandmother who looks younger than I do, so that was a huge self-esteem boost. If you listen to her performance and don’t get chills, you don’t have a soul and we can’t be friends.


I love when Simon is surprised (AKA at 0:47) and put in his place a la Susan Boyle.

Alex and Sierra were an irritating couple that I first wanted to punch in the face. I thought they were going to sing an obnoxious, corny, and lovey-dovey song, but I was pleasantly surprised. They sang “Toxic” but put an amazing spin on it and now I love them. If only Ms. Spears was still a judge so she could have seen it.


Maybe I should try to not be so quick to judge (Just Kidding.)

Rion Paige sang Carrie Underwood’s “Blown Away.” She was adorable and Simon compared her to a young Carrie. I thought that was a little far-fetched, but then I realized she was only 13 and now I can’t wait to see how far she goes.

I’m still unsure of how I feel about the new judges – mostly Paulina Rubio since, ehh. Speak English, gurl. We shall see how the season progresses. The only thing I’m sure of is that firing Khloe Kardashian was in everyone’s best interest, because I DEFINITELY would have punched her in the face by the end of the season.

2 thoughts on “The X Factor, Week 1: Chills

Leave a Reply

