The X Factor, Week 2: Dear Country and Paulina, GTFO

I missed last Thursday’s episode of The X Factor so I’m combining my incredibly important opinions with last night’s episode. I’m only going to mention my favorites – obviously anyone that gets through in the first round is talented but a few always stand out.

From Thursday? Rachel Potter and Simone Torres. Rachel claimed she was a country singer, but I didn’t really hear it very much, so I loved her. Simone Torres was awesome – and I just love when people prove Simon wrong and shove it in his face.

I have to mention Denise Weeks, the Subway singer. I think she was super nervous so I can’t wait to see how much more amazing she sounds when the nerves die down.

I pretty much loved everyone that made it through last night. Josh Levi sang Selena Gomez’s “Come and Get it,” which is easily one of the most ridiculous songs to ever be played on the radio, but he somehow made it sound fantastic.

I am already obsessed with AKNU who sang “Valerie.” Wanna dance? Play this.

Brandie Love was super annoying during all of her interviews and I was convinced she was going to be awful, but girl can SANG. I couldn’t find her video, but just take my word for it, mmkay?

Ah, the lovely Carlos Guevara. He sang John Mayer’s “Gravity” and it was great. I think I’m making him out to be better than he is, though. I’m a sucker for a good story so I loved the fact that music is the only thing that has helped with his Tourette’s and OCD. I’m curious to see how far he goes.

Danie Geimer! Our little socially awkward beast singer who is phenomenal.

All of these wonderful performances were ruined by the token country singer in his blue jeans, Colton Pack. Can he sing? Sure, he can carry a tune. Does he, or any country singer, belong on a show like this? Is he in the same caliber? I’ve said it once, and I’ll say it again – NO. How can you watch any of the above videos and pretend like this dude even belongs in the same room as them? UGH.

I’ll never get over the fact that they allow this garbage, or that I watched/listened to a song called “Hick Town” on a singing competition. I just can’t.

Oh, and I have officially decided that Paulina needs to leave. If you watch for 30 seconds I don’t think I need to explain why.

2 thoughts on “The X Factor, Week 2: Dear Country and Paulina, GTFO

Leave a Reply

