Rockefeller Center Christmas Tree Lighting 2014

My 2 year blogiversary recently passed! I distinctly remember being so excited that I started around the holidays because I got to re-cap the Rockefeller Center Christmas Tree Lighting. My blog was just a baby when Cee Lo Green horrified everyone. I kept up with the tradition last year, and just like Ms. Mariah Carey Christmas herself, I’m returning once again to reflect upon the 2014 performances. I’ll be wearing clothes, though.

Mariah opened up the show and….well it ain’t 1996 anymore, that’s for sure. Gal pal did not sound her best. She was playing around a lot with her ear piece so I’m sure she flipped out after the performance and made sure some innocent sound technicians were fired. Her cleavage came through as per usual, so don’t worry about that.
Mariah Carey Rockefeller Christmas Tree 2014

Lady Gaga showed up MC during a duet with Tony Bennett. (She even brought her own cleavage! I bet Mariah tripped her backstage.)
Lady Gaga Tony Bennett Rockefeller Christmas Tree
Anyway, Gags can sing, but I could have done without the random accents she kept throwing in throughout the song. Belt it out, gurl. I know you can.

Pentatonix followed Lady Gaga’s suit and were wonderful as always. It was more entertaining to watch Nick Lachey introduce them, his bitter seeping through his pores, aching to perform again.

Am I supposed to know who Prince Royce is? His performance of “Jingle Bell Rock” was reminiscent of a Junior High Talent show, so there’s that, I guess.

Idina Menzel can do no wrong.

Hootie is still pretending to be “country singer Darius Rucker” but this live performance proved he is anything but. He didn’t have that country twang I loathe so much. He may have slapped on a pair of cowboy boots but all I hear in the back of my mind is still “I only wanna be with youuuuuuuuuu.” LONG LIVE HOOTIE.

I was so jealous of Sara Bareilles last night. Not only did she get to sing with Seth MacFarlane, but it was “Baby It’s Cold Outside.” UGH. Jealous city over here.

I feel really awkward that no one told Leann Rimes that “I Want a Hippopotamus for Christmas” is a children’s song and not one to which she should strip. It was ridiculous. And she was proud of herself at the end. Don’t worry, Mariah, people have already forgotten your lacking vocals after this atrocity. This wasn’t necessary, Whore-Ann. Everyone hated you enough already.
Leann-Rimes-2014-christmas-tree-lighting-gty-ftr

Cyndi Lauper happened and I don’t even know what she sang. I couldn’t listen.

Trisha Yearwood can sing, but I was just over the whole thing by the end of the show. Plus, I can’t decide if I like her show on the Food Network yet, so that skews my opinion.

Until the next slutty Christmas Tree Lighting performances…

2 thoughts on “Rockefeller Center Christmas Tree Lighting 2014

  1. I thought Mariah’s was bad. Sarah Bareilles can do no wrong in my eyes. My favorite of hers is Sweet As Whole. If you haven’t heard that one, it is a gem of a song. I thought Cyndi Lauper was pretty scary and Gaga could you get your hands off poor Tony Bennet? It was a little creepy.

Leave a Reply

