Does Size Matter?

Get your dirty minds out of the gutter. I’m talking about engagement rings.

I must preface this post by saying that I have a beautiful ring that I absolutely love and I catch myself admiring it on a daily basis. This topic seems so materialistic which I am not (most of the time) so I feel weird writing about it. However, after hearing a discussion on the radio and realizing how many women are straight up assholes, I had to put in my 2 cents.

So, does the size, quality, whatever, of a diamond matter? The short answer: No.

This question was posed on a local radio station and they opened it up for discussion. Literally every woman who called in had outrageous comments about why they thought a big ring was important. A few gems:

“The size of the ring equates to the how much he loves you.” Yeah, it totally has nothing to do with what he’s able to afford. You’re just an idiot and I have zero patience for idiots.

“I’m the one who has to wear it for the rest of my life.” Does “first world problems” ring a bell?

“I would be embarrassed to show off my ring if it were smaller.” You’re a bitch.

I changed the station after that because I couldn’t listen to anymore stupidity.

Engagement Ring Size 3

Am I the weird one? Do people really care that much what other people think? When someone asks to see my ring I never think Oh no, are they going to like it? What if they think it’s too small? Or too big? Or they don’t like the cut? Because why the hell would I? It’s more like shit my nails look disgusting. I need a manicure. They’re definitely judging my gnawed nails right now. You know, the important stuff.

Again, maybe it’s easy for me to say because I do love my ring, but I’d still marry Tim if he got me a ring pop. AWWWWW. Not trying to be cute – who doesn’t love a good ring pop?

I literally did not even know what my ring looked like until after Tim had proposed and it was already on my finger. The shock started to wear off and it was like oh yea, I wonder what he picked. If you care that much about what your ring looks like, you should not be marrying that person. Plain and simple. This came up in conversation with some friends recently and that was pretty much the consensus so I know it’s not just me.

Anyone who thinks otherwise needs a reality check. Or a punch in the face.

9 thoughts on “Does Size Matter?

  1. I AGREE! Like omg, if you love the guy, then the ring shouldn’t matter. Mine is not very large but guess what…that’s what I picked! I didn’t need him in debt because of a piece of jewelry. Good for you too. Glad we’re not all bitches. 🙂

  2. Preach sistah. I had a conversation with my coworker who said his girlfriend told him she wouldn’t say yes unless the middle stone was AT MINIMUM 2 carats and the side stones equaled at least another 1-2 carats…the ring he was looking at was over 20 grand and I reminded him he might not want to marry her because she sucks. All I could think about was how I could buy everything my heart wanted in Target with that kind of money. Priorities people!

  3. I agree that size doesn’t matter and those who are hung up on it, well, enough said about them. The commitment is most important, though if someone were buying a diamond I would suggest they go for quality over size. But that would be true in life, also..:)

  4. I was pretty poor (still am) when I gave my wife her ring and it wasn’t much, but it was all I had at the time. If you’re rich or willing to go into debt, be my guest, but don’t frickin make other people think they love less because they get a smaller ring. And by the way, to the point of the person that said “I’m the one that has to wear it my whole life” are her hand really big and strong? Like wouldn’t someone with small hands appreciate a smaller ring? And by the way, with the attitude like she has, she probably doesn’t have to worry about wearing that ring very long, and she find another guy who will get her a ring, but ignore her because he is working all the time.

    1. Yes to the small hands thing! A giant ring would look ridiculous on someone with small fingers. And completely agree – hope he ditched her after comments like that

Leave a Reply

