Honeymoon at Sandals Emerald Bay

I fully plan to do a wedding recap mostly just because I want to share pictures, but right now I’m dreaming of butler service on the beach, so you’re getting a honeymoon recap first. Tim and I originally booked our honeymoon at Sandals Royal Bahamian in Nassau, Bahamas. Six weeks before we were scheduled to leave, we got a phone call to arrange our “relocation” because that resort would be closed for “renovations” for the months of September and October. Superb. (Side note:  According to Google, the renovations were actually union rep protesters. Hmmm.)

We were told that we could choose any other Sandals resort and book a comparable room for no extra fee. After extensive research – ie, but which water looks the most blue? we settled on Sandals Emerald Bay in Exuma. Since our peasant standard ocean view room wasn’t available at the resort we chose, Tim managed to snag us an ocean front walk-out butler suite for no additional cost.

Sandals Emerald Bay - Room View.jpg
Just the view from our private patio, NBD.

Getting There
I’m getting ahead of myself. First, we have to get there, via 2 normal size planes and one plane suited for toddlers. We flew Southwest to Ft. Lauderdale and then Ft. Lauderdale to Nassau. From there, we took this toy airplane to Exuma.
small plane to exumainside of small plane.jpg

Yeah. These photos are actually from the flight home – the plane for the flight there wasn’t quite as tiny, but still horrifying for someone with a fear of flying. Still, I managed to get some sweet looking photos from the plane. It was hard not to look at this – so cool!IMG_3540.jpg

We’re here! Almost.
exuma-airport

Let me just guide you to baggage claim. It’s right by that golf cart.exuma airport

We’re Here!

We took a cab ride from the airport to the resort. This was shared with super rude Swedes and a driver who toted around cans of raid in his car. I know this because he nearly poisoned us while spraying raid throughout the car to kill a run-of-the-mill house fly. Anyway, we made it and it was more amazing than I even thought it would be. One of our three butlers gave us a tour of the resort and brought us to our suite. We were greeted with chilled champagne and rose petals on the bed (every day, actually). We were handed our tiny butler phone and was told to call when we need anything – room service, a dinner reservation, a drink on the beach, chairs reserved, our room bar restocked, etc.. We decided to spend the afternoon on the beach because duh.
sandals emerald bay collage.jpg
As you can see, the heat and humidity did wonders for my hair – just as I suspected. But I didn’t even care because that beverage was hand delivered to me and this was my view.Sandals Emerald Bay - beach.jpg

It looks like I filtered the shit out of this but I actually did not – just the standard “auto correct.” You’re welcome. Don’t you wish you were a millionaire now? If you are, can you call me so we can be friends?

Butler Service

Before I keep rambling, I need to mention the butlers. There were three who rotated shifts throughout the week we were there and they were all amazing. Every night, they asked what we were doing the following day so we could have chairs reserved at the pool or beach. They brought drinks when we never even asked for them. I felt awkward at first but they are the only people allowed to accept tips at the resort so we just made sure to tip them well. Tim had no problem making calls.img_3624
There was one day we didn’t call them for anything and there were a bunch of missed calls on our phone because they needed to know where we were in case we needed anything. It was an absurd alternate life and it was amazing. Would we have still had a great time without the butlers? Yes, but if you remember, Tim got us that extra service fo free so we definitely took advantage. My only advice if you’re planning a trip sans butler: make sure one of you gets up early (like 6-7AM) to throw some towels on a chair at the beach or pool – wherever you want to go that day. That shiz fills up fast.

I’m going to end this here because this post is getting wordy and pic heavy.

Up Next: The Food, The Drinks, The Beach, The Pool (The Good Stuff)

3 thoughts on “Honeymoon at Sandals Emerald Bay

  1. I don’t think I could ever get Ina plane that small…ever….to go anywhere…regardless of how short the flight might be. That’s crazy..:) kudos to you for doing it.

Leave a Reply

