The Best Christmas Songs to Put You in the Holiday Spirit

Music is one of the best parts of the holiday season. I started listening to Christmas music around Halloween and now that it’s finally socially acceptable, I put together a list of the all-time-best.

“White Christmas” by Bing Crosby
A classic. You can’t not feel all the Christmas feels when listening to this song.

“Have Yourself a Merry Little Christmas” by Judy Garland
Obvi Frank’s version is wonderful but how can you not love Judy? Now I want to watch Meet Me in St. Louis.

“Silver Bells” by Regis Philbin and Kathie Lee Gifford
I don’t think “Silver Bells” as a song itself would myake my list, but when sung by Reege and KL, it competes for the #1 spot. We had a Regis and Kathie Lee Christmas CASSETTE TAPE because of course we did. This is now the only version I hear in my head when I think of this song and I don’t hate it. Regis’ ad-libbing is perfection – “And above all this bustle you’ll hear….people screaming for their lives.”

*NSYNC’s timeless “Merry Christmas, Happy Holidays”
This is the best because they’re like We gonna say “Merry Christmas” and no one can bitch about it because we throw in “Happy Holidays,” too. *NSYNC for lyfe. (One day, my future children will ask me what the 90’s were like. I will show them this video and weep with nostalgia.)

“All I Want for Christmas is You” by the one and only Queen Mariah
The absolute ultimate Christmas song. Mariah, I don’t know what’s happened to you since 1998, but I will love you forever and ever.

“Baby It’s Cold Outside”
There are so many versions of this but I’m currently obsessed with the Michael Buble’ & Idina Menzel version because DUH. The lyrics are modified in this one, which makes it seem less “date rapey” – although I don’t think the original is suggesting date rape anyway but that’s another story for another time. It’s just a song. This article explains it better.

Literally Anything Else by Michael Buble’christmas-is-coming-michael-buble-cave

If you’re looking for an excellent Christmas album might I suggest the following artists:

  • Michael Buble’
  • Mariah Carey
  • Glee Cast
  • Kelly Clarkson
  • Straight No Chaser

This obviously doesn’t begin to cover the wondrous Christmas song selection at our fingertips. What have I missed?

One thought on “The Best Christmas Songs to Put You in the Holiday Spirit

Leave a Reply

